The Story of Tamar

512px-Rape_of_Tamar_-_Le_SeurI remember the story from the Bible, how Amnon could not overcome his lust and forced himself onto Tamar. After the act, he hated her more than he had loved her, and cast her out.

His cruelty is a way to cover up his sin. He could not face her anymore.

The perpetrator ends up hating the person he has wronged because he could not face what he had done. The guilt was too much, so he turned it into animosity.

This great wrong in sending me away is worse than the other that you did to me.

I still love you and never will stop, no matter the hurt. I know you only hurt because you cannot face the wrong you did to me. I forgive you. Will you forgive yourself?

Leave a Reply

