My Appreciation Journal: Day 166

kindness to others

I am focused on me. I am strong. I love and am loved dearly. I am blessed. I live in success. I have 幸せ (happiness)~

I am grateful for waking up before the alarm 🙂

I am grateful for catching the express bus: I knew it was just right behind

I am grateful for being able to study during work 🙂 I was assigned to group room, but I asked to switch to the one in the 2nd floor, which turned out to be very quiet despite that it is finals!

I am grateful for opportunities to practice my kindness and patience today. I returned for a second shift this afternoon and the supervisor assigned me back to the group room. Upon entering, the colleague who was in there already became very mad at me just for stepping into the room. She later admitted that she knew I was just following orders but still became upset. As always I set my things down on the table and was ready to replace her, but this infuriated her because her papers were also there, albeit they were on the other side of the table. I moved my things for her to clear her belongings and just then someone needed help so I took a pen off the table, thinking it was one of the centre’s as I earlier left some pens on the table for others (actually, at the centre, pens are public property too). However, this one actually was her personal one so she angrily snatched it off my hand and began rebuking me and giving me orders. She would not let me talk and started “yelling” at me for everything that apparently went wrong before I came in the room. I also knew she had some misunderstandings but instead of correcting her or defending myself I just smiled, apologized for the “wrongs” she accused me of and thanked her for expressing her concerns. She left after she finished venting to go on her break. After she left, I wrote her a note expressing how much I appreciate her telling me her concerns and praised her for all the work she has done. When she returned to replace me and found the note, I found her much softened and even thanked me. I was very happy for being able to treat her the way she wanted and for deflecting a potential conflict and ills between colleagues. I feel this incident as well as the one earlier with my labmate were God’s way of teaching me lessons on kindness and empathy. I have to admit it has been difficult to reciprocate bad treatments with kindness, as I am only human and do not appreciate accusations and poor treatments. Yes, I could have “yelled” back and point out her wrongs, but that would not help anything and would just make her feel badly. Kindness begets kindness, so I chose to keep my peace and happiness and decided to turn it into an act of kindness, which made everyone happy 🙂 I decided to write random appreciation notes for others as well and an older colleague saw it and remarked how this kind gesture was something one would expect coming from me – how sweet! I continued my happy streak all afternoon and smiled and thanked everyone for anything they did, which in turn made them all smile and thank me back. Kindness truly begets kindness ^o^

I am grateful for God’s grace in keeping my peace and happiness so that I can turn ills into an act that glorifies Him 🙂

I am grateful for my friends’ msgs that made me laugh 🙂

To my him, my beloved familiar:

Thank you for our loving relationship

Thank you for accepting my kindness

Thank you for believing in me for believing in you

For some reason I almost cried today remembering how happy I am in loving you. Nee, even in tears I can only rejoice in our love 🙂

Leave a Reply

