My Gratitude Diary: Day 229

forgiveness_rocks

I am focused on me. I am strong. I love and am loved dearly. I am blessed. I live in success. I have 幸せ (happiness)~

I am grateful for the restful sleep today

I am grateful for realizing how little need – if any – I have for television now. My parents gave me their flat-screen LCD TV last month because they do not have cable. My landlord gave me his spare cable box so I thought it would be nice to have this luxury in my house, especially since I thought it may make my suite feel more “homey”. Realizing how it has just been sitting there collecting dust, I decided to turn it on last night and again today when making breakfast, only to realize how much it bothered me. It is not the TV itself, but the shows on it. I realized that I much prefer music and peace/quiet and doing chores than time spent staring at a TV screen. I still love my Japanese cooking shows and enjoy watching certain short Youtube clips, but I realize that I have been getting bored and even somewhat annoyed by shows and movies with pure “entertainment” values. I used to enjoy movies, anime and drama, and I know that, to a certain extent, I still do, but it has been a very long time since I have been able to “stand” and finish watching recreational shows, movies, etc (save for the ones related to food/cooking) in their entirety. The other day, my mommy asked if I would like to join her in watching a “really famous movie that is in its seventh installment”, but I had hardly any interest. I also admit that I have never seen popular shows such as “Game of Thrones”, and not even the fact that the cousin of my friend is a famous/head actress in an incredibly popular show is enough to pique my curiosity to watch even one episode of it (although every single one of my labmate follows the show for the sake of watching this famous cousin of hers). I am grateful for not having this temptation in my life 🙂

I am grateful for the cool breeze on the bus today~

I am grateful for finding pleasant scents of summer everywhere I go 🙂

I am grateful for my joy and peace quickly returning to me after what happened with my senior labmate today. She took my candy gift without acknowledging it, purposely ignored me, and have again left a mess in my office. I know that ever since she found out/suspects that I am a Christian (I listen to hymns in my own office and she would shut off my speaker when she comes into my office to use the printer) she has become unhappy with me, despite that she is raised in a Catholic background, but I feel this may be an opportunity to show her God’s grace (if only I could be good enough to be His vessel and refrain from being filled with worldly emotions). After I quietly cleaned up my office and finished my prayer, my brother texted me telling me how there will be a great meal when I come home tonight (my mommy has asked me to come visit since it’s been a while)~ This cheered me up since it’s been a week since I have had anything substantive (in my opinion as a “foodie”, haha) 🙂

I am grateful for my friend, who understands how difficult it is to do the right thing and to give love unconditionally~

I am grateful for the food I received tonight – it is indeed wonderful 🙂

I am grateful for the great night with family 🙂

Dear Lord:

You have been teaching me what is important in life over the past couple of years. I understand that You are giving me these trials to polish me. I hope I am becoming better 🙂

True forgiveness and patience are precious values that I know You want me to learn. I also know You are using difficult people in my life right now to teach me how to rise above.

I pray for Anthony. Please keep giving him success in his work and send him my love as I focus on myself right now.

In Jesus’ name I give thanks for the day and pray, Amen 🙂

Leave a Reply

