My Gratitude Diary: Day 694

5214ce57afa96f79b1000020

I am focused on me. I am strong. I love and am loved . I am blessed. I live in success. I have 幸せ~

I am grateful for the sleep I had, despite that it was disturbed by some physical stress I had upon finding that my landlords tried to illegally raise my rent. Every aspect of their method is illegal, unfortunately, from the delivery of the note to the format. I know this because my friends have all had rent increases and I know the legal process well~ Instead of using the legal government forms, they simply gave me a typed note with signatures (and even spelled my name wrong @.@) Moreoever, it was actually way above the legal limit. It is not so much the financial aspect that concerns me, as I can easily afford the increase within the legal limit, but it is the unethical aspects of everything that really disheartens me. The wife is a school teacher and the husband is a real estate agent, so their way of approaching this is very, well, um… less to be desired… The day before, I actually had a very nice talk with the husband during which I gave him a present for his young daughter. I didn’t do it with any ulterior intentions but simply wanted to be nice. Therefore, I found it very sad that they still could not get over their monetary desire. I overheard the wife venting her frustrations on me because she thinks that I, as a tenant, my using of the hydro and all resources is simply a waste, and she really wants more money – literally, she shouted this out to her husband when they were fighting one time about something that has nothing to do with me. I remember her screaming at her husband after I became upset that her father trespassed into my place. She knew she was in the wrong, but instead of admitting it she screamed about how unhappy she is with me because she thinks that I am not as financially useful as some other tenants they could have gotten. I know that when they are calm, though, they do really appreciate me because I’m quiet, clean, and responsible; however, whenever they are frustrated, they not only pick on each other but also me… They actually had been living separately for weeks now, since their last fight, and I guess that they hope to use me (the money I could provide them) to cheer them up. Unfortunately, I will not be able to give them this satisfaction. I will, of course, be legal and ethical in all my approaches, but will stand my ground. I suppose this is the compromise I have to endure for having selected a better suite than my friends~ I am grateful to know that they are not really evil people, but just unfortunately not very mature and blinded by greed and anger (which really has nothing to do with me but themselves)~ Sometimes I really wonder why people are driven to do the things they do. I understand that my landlords are very emotionally stressed and have severe problems in their marriages, so I hope I can be more understanding when I talk with them. I just hope that they would listen to reason and respond in kindness. I think that is the hardest part, especially since they know that I am younger than them. It is always so awkward to have to be the mature one and I find people tend to react negatively when they feel embarrassed or in the wrong. Everyone has their own principles and beliefs in right and wrong, and that is the cause for prejudice, bias, and conflicts. However, in this situation, because they have not complied with the law, I know that I am in the right – I mean, come on, seriously, a typed note raising more than the legal limit? – so I hope they would be amenable to reason.

I am grateful for my suite and for my landlords, because even though they did not do right this time by trying to raise my rent illegally, overall, they had been alright~

I am grateful for the beautiful sunny day

I am grateful for the food I had~

I am grateful for having enough funds to pay my fees~

I am grateful for the help from a school administrator

I am grateful for the work finished today~ Finally, I finished the main component of my team project contribution~

I am grateful for the feeling of relief after writing my diary 🙂 I felt soooo tense all day because of my landlord’s unlawful act, but I feel better after reassessing the situation and focusing on their behaviors rather than thinking ill of them, especially considering that I do know about their marriage problems/stressors~

I am grateful for keeping sane when I sensed the heartache~

Dear Lord:

Please wipe off my tears for tonight so that I can get some rest and be happy by the time tomorrow comes~

As always, I pray for Anthony and bless him, no matter what~

In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen

Leave a Reply

