My Gratitude Diary: Day 703

index

I am focused on me. I am strong. I love and am loved . I am blessed. I live in success. I have 幸せ~

I am grateful for the restful sleep

I am grateful for the calm I had when my landlord ignored my request for providing me with the receipts. Unfortunately, he is doing so to avoid confronting me as he is in the wrong by unlawfully withholding proof of my payment. I feel it is very sad how, in his efforts to gain financially, he has resorted to unlawful and unethical behavior~ But, on the positive side, I do have undeniable proof that he is breaking the law, which is reassuring 🙂

I am grateful for having hot water and heat ^o^ You don’t know what you’re missing until you don’t have it anymore >.< Well, I always loved my heat and hot water, but still~

I am grateful for the fun I had at the social

I am grateful for my friend’s concern about me. I did not know that apparently my switching program has alerted my peers in the department and that they had been asking about me. A friend who is very clear-cut in her likes and dislikes in people showed concern, which I appreciate. This girl is actually very open about her actions and knows that sometimes she can come across as well, not very nice~ Therefore, in a way I’m glad I did right by always being nice to her, and she, in turn, showed concern for me, which I appreciate~ I think that this just proves that time does show character and that when you’re consistent in your own conduct, people will notice ^o^

I am grateful for my professor’s reassuring reply to my concerns. She was able to read between my lines and guessed that I did the final review because I was the best person to do so, not because I really wanted to~ To be honest, I felt very uncomfortable bringing this up to the prof as it felt like a betrayal to my teammates and that I would come across as conceited for thinking I’m somehow “better”. I do acknowledge my teammates’ abilities and intentions to contribute, but what to do when there is a huge discrepancy between levels of ability, skills, and knowledge? Thankfully, my professor validated it and confirmed that I do have “good reasons to be confident in [my] academic abilities”, based on what she had seen so far. This is a situation I’ve been facing since grade school, and it is still difficult each time. On one hand, we all want the best grades and there is no denying that all my teammates are competent in their own ways; however, it feels so odd to be the one standing out. Yes, it’s a good thing, but it also makes me feel weird @.@ Therefore, I am sooooo thankful that my professor is able to guess my concern and reassure me~

I am grateful for the food I had today~ I had a lot of sweets, which is not good, but yum >.<

I am grateful for the work done today

I am grateful for the discussion I had with my classmate about ethics (beneficence and nonmaleficence). I admit I purposely (a little) offered a stronger opinion to elicit more interesting discussions in class because everyone is just so, well, agreeable and complacent. Okie, I may have made a counterpoint on purpose, but it’s not to put myself in an antithetical position but to stimulate class discussion~ It makes for much better/productive discussion if we can build on each other’s ideas rather than just agreeing with every idea and everyone without protest~ There is a limit to what you can achieve if you do not encounter any opposing forces. It is only with challenge that our potential can be drawn out to achieve our greatest advancement 🙂

Dear Lord:

*Realizes in horror* Oh, gosh, is this why You kept on challenging me and putting me in difficult situations/positions? Um, then can I ask for an easier life? Because all these challenges are really stressful for little me… what if I get wrinkles? I defy wrinkles!!!

Oh, well, then You have to promise that I come out better than ever since I’m getting challenged so much. I extend the same prayer to Anthony, who I know will realize that his own challenges only serve to make him better and not to cause him to falter. I trust that he will find his way home soon 🙂

In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen

 

 

Leave a Reply

